The Mexican-American Bar Association of Texas Foundation, or MABATx Foundation, will host its 14th annual Scholarship Luncheon benefiting Hispanic law students on August 21 at the C. Baldwin Curio Collection by Hilton (the former Downtown DoubleTree Houston).

Scholarships will be awarded to law students from each of Houston’s three law schools (South Texas College of Law Houston, Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law, and the University of Houston Law Center). Awards will be granted to outstanding law students who best exemplify leadership, commitment, justice, and equality within the Hispanic community and beyond.

“It is important that we encourage a new generation of lawyers to not only be great lawyers but to also give back to the legal community,” said Benny Agosto Jr., founder and president of the MABATx Foundation, president of the Houston Bar Association, and a partner in Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Sorrels, Agosto & Aziz in Houston, in a press release.

Pioneers of the community will also be honored, including: Maria T. Jackson, judge of the 339th Judicial District Court in Harris County for Outstanding Service in the Judiciary; Arun Roy, of A3H Foods, for Outstanding Service in the Community as a Business Executive; Khambrell Marshall, of KPRC-TV, for Outstanding Service in the Media; Kim Ogg, district attorney of Harris County, for Outstanding Service as a Public Servant; and Don Guter, dean emeritus of South Texas College of Law Houston, will receive the Lifetime Award.