Judge Eric M. Shepperd began his term as president of the Austin Bar Association today. During his one-year tenure, he will focus on raising the public’s awareness of legal services and highlighting the ways in which Austin’s legal community works to provide services to those in need.

Before serving in his current position as judge of Travis County Court at Law No. 2, Shepperd was the director of civil litigation for the Travis County Attorney’s Office and assistant attorney general for the Law Enforcement Defense Division.

Shepperd is active in service to the legal profession and the Austin community. He is a lecturer for the University of Texas Law School’s Trial Advocacy Program, a board member of the Texas Center for the Judiciary, and a board member and past chair of Leadership Austin, among other activities. Shepperd holds a B.A. in business from Andrews University and a law degree from the University of Texas School of Law.

Joining Judge Shepperd as Austin Bar officers for the upcoming bar year are Leslie Dippel, president-elect; Amy Welborn, secretary; Adam Schramek, treasurer; and Judge Elisabeth Earle, immediate past-president. The Austin Bar board of directors includes David Courreges, Jessica Mangrum, Cindy Saiter, D. Todd Smith, Amanda Arriaga, Laurie Merritt, Amanda Taylor, and Kennon Wooten.

New leadership for the Austin Young Lawyers Association includes Chari Kelly, who began her term as president today; Katie Fillmore, president-elect; Jorge Padilla, secretary; Austin Kaplan, treasurer; and Amanda Arriaga, immediate past-president. The AYLA board of directors includes Hayden Briggle, Drew Harris, Whitney Mack, Nadia Ramkissoon, Sandy Bayne, David King, Jessica Palvino, and Andrea Rose.