The State Bar of Texas Board of Directors’ Nominations and Elections Subcommittee voted Monday to recommend the nomination of Denise Scofield, of Houston, and Santos Vargas, of San Antonio, as candidates for 2024-2025 State Bar president-elect. If the board approves their nominations, Scofield and Vargas would appear on the ballot in April 2024 along with any certified petition candidates.

Potential petition candidates can begin collecting signatures on September 1, 2023, and have until March 1, 2024, to submit their nominating petitions to the State Bar for certification. For information on how to run for president-elect, go  here.

This year, the subcommittee considered candidates from any county in the state, in compliance with State Bar rules. Click the names below to read the potential nominees’ interest letters as submitted to the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee.

Denise Scofield

Santos Vargas

Nominations and Elections is a subcommittee of the State Bar board co-chaired by Immediate Past President Laura Gibson and Immediate Past Board Chair Chad Baruch.