Talmage Boston

The State Bar of Texas Litigation Section announced Dallas attorney Talmage Boston as the recipient of this year’s Luther (Luke) H. Soules III Award for Outstanding Service to the Practice of Law. The annual award is given to an attorney who embodies excellence in the practice of law, exemplary service to the Bar, and has demonstrated outstanding professionalism and community impact throughout their career.

Boston, a partner at Shackelford Law Firm’s Dallas office, handles commercial litigation in both trials and appeals. During his 44-year career, he has successfully represented clients in state and federal court lawsuits and arbitrations involving oil and gas, real estate, banking, intellectual property, and partnership disputes. He is certified in both civil trial law and civil appellate law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

An active bar volunteer, Boston currently serves on the Texas Bar Foundation Board of Directors and on the Texas Bar Journal Board of Editors. Among his other service to the profession, he is a past chair of the State Bar of Texas Litigation Section, a former director of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors, and a past chair of the Dallas Bar Foundation.

Boston is the author of several books including Raising the Bar: The Crucial Role of the Lawyer in Society and Cross-Examining History: A Lawyer Gets Answers From the Experts About Our Presidents.

Luther “Luke” Soules III was the first recipient of the award, in 2008. Other past honorees include James E. Coleman Jr., Dicky Grigg, the Honorable Royal Furgeson, Kim Askew, George W. Bramblett Jr., Eduardo Rodriguez, Stephen L. Tatum, David J. Beck, James L. Branton, Jim Harrington, Claude Ducloux, Harper Estes, the Honorable Eva Guzman, and the Honorable John G. Browning.

Boston received the award on December 9 during the 39th annual Litigation Update Institute in Houston. As part of the award, a $1,500 honorarium is provided to a law-related charity of the recipient’s choice. Boston has chosen the Texas Bar Foundation for this year’s donation.