The Dallas Bar Association announced the NBC 5/KXAS-TV team of Eva Parks, Scott Friedman, and Jose Sanchez as its 2022 Stephen Philbin Award Grand Prize Winner.

The team’s entry, “Paper Tag Nation,” examined the extensive impacts of fraudulent Texas license plates, their threat to the public and police, and how the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ plan to stop fraud enabled it instead.

The second-place winner is the Dallas Morning News team of Kevin Krause and Dave Hiott, whose “Reefer Madness: Marijuana Enforcement” series focused on the regulation and enforcement of marijuana laws.

The Philbin Awards were established in 1983 in honor of Stephen Philbin, an active member of the Dallas Bar Association and leading authority on media law who died of leukemia in 1982. The grand-prize winner received $12,000 and the second-place team received $5,000.

For more information, go to