The State Bar of Texas today announced the recipients of the 2021 Texas Minority Counsel Program awards, which honor outstanding attorneys for their impact in the areas of diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.

The Texas Minority Counsel Program, or TMCP, is the premier client development, networking, and continuing legal education event for attorneys in Texas. The program, which is open to all attorneys, aims to bolster the amount and significance of legal work obtained by minority, women, and LGBTQ+ attorneys, and attorneys of other historically underrepresented groups.

Recipients of the 2021 TMCP awards appear below along with a description of each award. Past award recipients and more information on the program can be found at

Corporate Counsel of the Year Award—honors an in-house counsel who has opened doors for Texas minority, women, and LGBTQ+ attorneys by promoting diversity within their department or company; by consistently hiring minority, women, and LGBTQ+ attorneys in private practice to perform legal work on behalf of their company; or by engaging in mentorship and volunteerism with the bar or community to foster diversity in the legal profession.

  • Winner: Tasha Grinnell, Dallas, The Container Store
  • Finalist: Ellen Farrell, Plano, Toyota Financial Services
  • Finalist: Meyling Ly Ortiz, Plano, Toyota Motor North America

Trailblazer of the Year Award—honors an outside counsel who has effectuated the promotion of diversity within the legal profession through hiring, retention, and mentoring of minority, women, and LGBTQ+ attorneys, partnering with minority, women, and LGBTQ+ owned law firms, and involvement with bar or community activities designed to promote diversity within the legal profession.

  • Winner: Hon. Ravi K. Sandill, Houston, 127th Judicial District Court, Harris County
  • Finalist: Britney Harrison, Dallas, Calabrese Budner, LLP
  • Finalist: Christopher Hollins, Houston, Hollins Law Group PLLC

Rising Star Award—recognizes an attorney who has made strides early in their practice to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion within the legal profession through involvement with bar or community activities.

  • Winner: Reginald Wilson, Houston, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
  • Finalist: Alfred Blue, Dallas, Thompson Coburn
  • Finalist: Ashley Wright, Dallas, Winston & Strawn

Lifetime Achievement Award—honors an attorney who has demonstrated extraordinary support and advocacy for the advancement of minorities, women, and LGBTQ+ people in the legal profession over the course of their legal career.

  • Winner: Paula Hinton, Houston, Winston & Strawn
  • Finalist: Wei Wei Jeang, Plano, Grable Martin Fulton PLLC
  • Finalist: Harry Reasoner, Houston, Vinson & Elkins LLP