Christopher V. Popov, of Vinson & Elkins, took office as president of the Houston Bar Association during the HBA Annual Dinner on May 19.

Popov’s goals for the year include elevating civil discourse affecting society, promoting wellness resources, and amplifying services provided by HBA affiliates such as the Houston Volunteer Lawyers, the Houston Lawyer Referral Service, and the Dispute Resolution Center.

“We’re living in a bizarre age of misinformation and political polarization. I see an important role for lawyers to lead us back to reverence for civic responsibility and respect for the rule of law,” Popov said in a press release. “My aim for the coming year is to engage our members through programs offering meaningful dialogue on the most pressing legal issues of the day, promoting wellness resources, as well as ensuring that Houstonians are educated on the legal services offered through our ancillary organizations.”

Popov is a trial lawyer practicing before courts and arbitration panels nationwide. He tried commercial cases involving merger disputes, environmental matters, antitrust, corporate governance, intellectual property, constitutional rights, internet media, and other commercial matters. He is co-head of Vinson & Elkins’ Complex Commercial Litigation practice. Popov received his law degree from the University of Texas School of Law, where he was a chancellor and member of the Texas Law Review.

Other HBA officers for the 2022-2023 bar year: Diana Gomez, of Chamberlain Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry, president-elect; Greg Ulmer, of BakerHostetler, first vice president; Greg Moore, of Norton Rose Fulbright, second vice president; David E. Harrell Jr., of Locke Lord, treasurer; Daniella Landers, of Womble Bond Dickinson, secretary; and Jennifer A. Hasley, of Hasley Scarano, immediate past president. Directors include Robert Painter, of Painter Law Firm; Keri Brown, of Baker Botts; Kaylan Dunn, of Hunton Andrews Kurth; Samantha Torres, of Okin Adams Bartlett Curry; Collin Cox, of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher; Jeff Oldham, of Bracewell; Pamela Medina, of Medina Law Texas; and Colin Pogge, of Gibbs & Bruns.

The Houston Bar Association also presented awards to the following: Chief Justice Tracy Christopher, of the 14th Court of Appeals, the Justice Ruby Kless Sondock Award; and Judge Edith H. Jones, former chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit, the Justice Eugene A. Cook Professionalism Award.

For more information about the Houston Bar Association, go to