The State Bar of Texas Board of Directors’ Nominations and Elections Subcommittee voted today to recommend the nomination of Jose “Joe” Escobedo Jr., of Edinburg, and Cindy V. Tisdale, of Granbury, as candidates for 2022-2023 State Bar president-elect. If the board approves their nominations, Escobedo and Tisdale would appear on the ballot in April 2022 along with any certified petition candidates.

Potential petition candidates can begin collecting signatures on September 1, 2021, and have until March 1, 2022, to submit their nominating petitions to the State Bar for certification. For information on how to run for president-elect, go .

This year, the subcommittee considered candidates from nonmetropolitan counties, in compliance with State Bar rules. Click the names below to read the potential nominees’ interest letters and resumes as submitted to the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee.

Nominations and Elections is a subcommittee of the State Bar board co-chaired by Immediate Past President Larry McDougal and Immediate Past Board Chair John Charles “Charlie” Ginn.