The Houston Bar Association welcomed 2021-2022 President Jennifer A. Hasley and recognized outstanding service by members at its annual dinner on July 15.

David J. Beck, founding partner in Beck Redden, received the Justice Eugene A. Cook Professionalism Award, and Susan L. Bickley, a partner in Blank Rome, received the Justice Ruby Kless Sondock Award.

2020-2021 President Bill Kroger presented Special Recognition Awards for exemplary service to the legal profession and community to Dean Michael F. Barry, of South Texas College of Law Houston; Dean Joan R.M. Bullock, of Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law; and Dean Leonard M. Baynes, of the University of Houston Law Center, for leadership in legal education and community engagement.

Committees honored for their achievements in 2020-2021 were the Bench Bar Conference Committee, County Law Library Committee, Diversity & Inclusion Committee, Fun Run Committee, Gender Fairness Committee, The Houston Lawyer Editorial Board, Implicit Bias Task Force, Law Week Committee, and LegalLine Committee.

For more information about the Houston Bar Association, go to