The Texas Supreme Court and the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals have appointed 31 members to lead the newly established Judicial Commission on Mental Health. The commission will examine best practices in the administration of civil and criminal justice for persons with mental illness.

The newly appointed members will serve through August 2020 and include, Hon. Brent Carr, of Fort Worth; Camille Cain, of Austin; Terry Crocker, of Edinburg; Jerry Davis, of Austin; Hon. Francisco Dominguez, of El Paso; Hon. Camile DuBose, of Hondo; Dr. Tony Fabelo, of Austin; Sonja Gaines, of Austin; Hon. Ernie Glenn, of San Antonio; Hon. Sid Harle, of San Antonio; Dr. Andrew Keller, of Dallas; Adrienne Kennedy, of Austin; Hon. M. Sue Kurita, of El Paso; Beth Ann Lawson, of Lubbock; Major Mike Lee, of Houston; Chief James McLaughlin Jr. (ret.), of Elgin; Mike Maples, of Austin; Dr. Octavio Martinez, of Austin; Hon. Stacey Matthews, of Round Rock; Beth Mitchell, of Austin; Tom Mitchell, of Houston; Hon. Roxanne Nelson, of Marble Falls; Hon. Robert Newsom, of Sulphur Springs; Hon. Harriet O’Neill (ret.), of Austin; Denise Oncken, of Houston; Dr. William B. Schnapp, of Houston; Dr. Brian Shannon, of Lubbock; Reginald Smith, of Austin; Hon. Polly Jackson Spencer (ret.), of San Antonio; and Hon. Cynthia Wheles, of Plano.

Texas Supreme Court Justice Jeff Brown and Judge Barbara Hervey of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals will serve as the initial co-chairs of the commission. Justice Bill Boyce, of the 14th Court of Appeals in Houston, will serve as the initial vice chair.

The governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker of the house have been invited to each designate a person to serve as an ex-officio member.

The first meeting of the commission is scheduled for May 15, 2018, in Austin. The meeting will be available by webcast and later archived at

The signed order can be viewed at