More than 800 criminal defense attorneys from across the state converged on San Antonio last week for the Texas Criminal Defense Layers Association’s annual meeting.

tcdlaThe 29th Annual Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course—the largest gathering of criminal defense lawyers in the Southwest—on June 16-18 featured continuing legal education, court and law updates, and honored important individuals in the field.

Among those recognized for their contributions to criminal defense were:

  • William T. Habern of Houston and Shirley Baccus-Lobel of Dallas and Edward Mallett of Houston, who were inducted into the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association Hall of Fame.
  • Richard Gladden of Denton and Brian Wice of Houston, who were named Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association Lawyers of the Year.
  • Texas Sen. Rodney Ellis was presented with an award named in his honor recognizing his commitment to fixing the flaws in the state’s criminal justice system.
  • State Bar Past President Buck Files was celebrated for his 200th article in the association’s publication The Voice.
  • Robert Fickman was recognized for his role in establishing the association’s annual readings of the Declaration of Independence for the Fourth of July.

John A. Convery of San Antonio was sworn in at the event as the 46th president of the association by his predecessor Sam Bassett of Austin.