During the New Lawyer Induction Ceremony at Bass Concert Hall on October 30, Supreme Court of Texas Justice and Texas Access to Justice Commission liaison Brett Busby honored the contributions of some of Texas’ most ardent pro bono advocates.

Justin Atkinson, of the University of Texas School of Law, and Shayla Hoang Nguyen, of Texas A&M School of Law, both received the 2023 Law Student Pro Bono Award in recognition of their exceptional commitment to pro bono work, according to a press release.

The University of Texas School of Law received the 2023 Law School Commitment to Service Award, which recognizes a law school’s significant impact on its community and its commitment to instilling in its students a passion for pro bono work. UT Law’s unyielding dedication to public service and its extensive influence on its community truly set it apart, according to a press release.

At a reception later in the day, the Texas Access to Justice Commission also highlighted the contributions of attorneys who have consistently exceeded the State Bar’s goals for pro bono work to address the substantial unmet legal needs of the underprivileged. Membership in the Pro Bono College, which was established by the State Bar in 1992, requires attorneys to enroll annually after completing a minimum of 75 hours of pro bono services. The following attorneys were recognized for their pro bono service:

Joseph A. Connors III (25 years); Mary Jo Holloway (20 years); Kurt A. Malmquist II (25 years); and Edward L. Pina (20 years).

Each year since 2009, the legal aid community has recognized Pro Bono Week to inspire increased participation in pro bono activities by the legal community. Pro Bono Week occurred October 23-29, 2023.

For more information about the Texas Access to Justice Commission, go to texasatj.org.