The State Bar of Texas Board of Directors held its quarterly meeting on April 29 in El Paso. Highlights of the meeting appear below. You can watch video of the meeting at and read the agenda and meeting materials at

New board chair-elect

The board elected Dallas district director Chad Baruch chair of the board for the 2022-2023 bar year. Baruch, managing shareholder at Johnston Tobey Baruch, previously served on the board from 2007 to 2010 and was one of two nominated candidates for president-elect in 2017.

New at-large directors

The board approved President Sylvia Borunda Firth’s appointment of Elizabeth Sandoval Cantu, of Edinburg, and Modinat “Abby” Kotun, of Houston, as at-large directors. Cantu and Kotun will serve three-year terms beginning in June.

State Bar of Texas budget

The board voted to submit the proposed 2022-2023 fiscal year budget to the Texas Supreme Court for consideration. The proposed budget is available at

Proposed Texas Lawyer’s Creed and rule changes

The board approved the submission of proposed revisions to the Texas Lawyer’s Creed to the Supreme Court and Court of Criminal Appeals for consideration. The board also approved referring to the Supreme Court recommendations from the Court Rules Committee regarding Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 193.7 and Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 39.7.

Task force updates

President-elect Laura Gibson provided an update on the Redistricting Task Force, saying the task force recommended no changes to the bar districts this year. The Building Planning Special Committee continues to study possible uses for the bar’s property at 1415 Lavaca St. in Austin, committee chair Jerry Alexander said. Also, Houston district director Diane St. Yves-Brewer updated the board on the Discipline & Client-Attorney Assistance Program Subcommittee’s review of the report of the Task Force on Public Protection, Grievance Review, and the Client Security Fund.

Committee appointments

The board approved appointments to the bar’s standing committees for 2022-2023.


The board adopted resolutions honoring Judge M. Sue Kurita and El Paso immigration attorney Linda Y. Rivas for exceptional service. Executive Director Trey Apffel presented Staff Excellence Awards to Eric Quitugua, associate editor of the Texas Bar Journal, and Amy Turner, human resources director.

Looking ahead

The next scheduled board meetings will take place June 8-9 in Houston. Comments can be emailed to To find your district directors, go here.