The Texas Supreme Court named Harriet Miers, a partner in Locke Lord in Dallas and Washington, D.C., as the new chair of the Texas Access to Justice Commission, effective January 1, 2022. Harry Reasoner, who has served as chair for 12 years, will serve as chair emeritus.

The Texas Supreme Court commended Reasoner for his service and steadfast commitment to ensuring access to justice to all Texans. “Under the dedicated leadership of Chair Reasoner, the Commission made incredible strides in pursuit of its mission to increase the quality and quantity of civil legal services for the poor in Texas,” the court order said.

In his role as chair emeritus, Reasoner will continue to be active in the commission and will lead the 2022 Veteran’s Gala. He is a partner in Vinson & Elkins in Houston.

“Harry Reasoner is an iconic member of our legal community, indeed most influential and revered for his character and abilities,” Miers said in a press release. “He is one of America’s most highly regarded trial lawyers for his professionalism and effectiveness, and he is legendary in his contributions increasing access to justice for low-income Texans. His passion for making real our country’s pledge to provide justice for all is unsurpassed.”

During Reasoner’s time as chair, the commission made advancements in its mission to increase access to justice for Texas citizens, including redoubling efforts in pursuit of additional civil aid legal funding.

Miers, who served as president of the State Bar of Texas from 1992 to 1993, was appointed to the commission in 2013 and served as chair of the commission’s Legislative Committee, leading efforts to secure funding for civil legal aid. On a national level, she served as co-chair of the Legal Services Corporation Leaders Council.

“Harriet has long been a great leader in working for access to justice both at the national level and as a commissioner,” Reasoner said in a press release. “She will continue to provide great leadership.”

For more information about the Texas Access to Justice Commission, go to