Bill Kroger, of Baker Botts, took office as the 2020-2021 Houston Bar Association president on May 12, succeeding Benny Agosto Jr.

Along with a new president, the Houston Bar elected new officers, including President-elect Jennifer A. Hasley, of Hasley Scarano; First Vice President David Harrell, of Locke Lord; Second Vice President Diana Gomez, of Chamberlain Hrdlicka; Treasurer Chris Popov, of Vinson & Elkins; and Secretary Daniella D. Landers, of Reed Smith.

Directors are Collin Cox, of Yetter Coleman; Hon. Erin Lunceford, of Norton Rose Fulbright; Pamela Medina, of Cadence Bank; Greg Moore, of Norton Rose Fulbright; Robert Painter, of Painter Law Firm; Colin Pogge, of Gibbs & Bruns; Mitch Reid, of Hunton Andrews Kurth; and Greg Ulmer of BakerHostetler. Agosto will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Kroger’s focus includes forging strategic partnerships to help Houston recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, providing enhanced services as HBA members meet new challenges in the practice of law, and increasing pro bono service to low-income Houstonians facing issues tied to the pandemic.

At Baker Botts, where he has practiced law his entire 31-year legal career, Kroger has chaired the Energy Litigation Practice Group for over a decade. He has represented the oil and gas, power renewable, and real estate industries and has been recognized for his work by several law publications and ranking services.

Among Kroger’s accolades is the Karen H. Susman Jurisprudence Award, which he won in 2020 for exhibiting exceptional commitment to equality, justice, fairness, and community service. In 2017, he was elected to the American Law Institute. Two years later, Kroger received the Leon Jaworski Award from the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary for a lifetime of public service.

He has served on the boards of Communities in Schools Houston, the Alley Theatre, the Houston Bar Foundation, and the State Bar of Texas.

Kroger earned a bachelor of business administration degree in accounting and a master of business administration degree from the University of Texas. He earned his law degree from the University of Texas School of Law.

For more information, go to