This year the Travis County Women Lawyers’ Association Scholarship Fund awarded four separate scholarships to eight well-deserving Texas women law students. The scholarship board looks at leadership qualities, community service, and activities within the law school when choosing recipients.

The Ann Forman Scholarship is awarded annually to a second- or third-year law student attending the University of Texas School of Law. The scholarship committee considers each candidate’s interest and aptitude in child welfare law, related community service, and financial need. This year the award was given to Jill Applegate.

The Farris-Cisneros Scholarship is awarded annually to a minority woman attending the UT School of Law. The scholarship committee considers financial need, history of community involvement, and future intentions of the scholarship applicants. This year the award was given to Ashley Alcantara and Harjeen Zibari.

The Mary Pearl Williams scholarship is awarded to a law student at the UT School of Law who shows, through community service and activities at the law school, exceptional promise of being a community leader. This year the award was given to Anna Roberson and Melissa Sopher.

The Margaret Cooper scholarship is awarded annually to the UT School of Law applicant who best demonstrates perseverance in the face of adversity, financial need, and community service. This year the award was given to Ashley Renee Berry, Natalie Neill, and Zoraima Pelaez.

For more information on the TCWLA Scholarship Fund or to make a donation, go to







Pictured, from left: TCWLA President Sarah Glaser, Scholarship Board Member Diane Hebner, TCWLA Scholarship Co-Chair and Scholarship Board Member Velva Price, and scholarship recipients Jill Applegate, Natalie Neill, Anna Roberson, Melissa Sopher, and Zoraima Pelaez.