Blake Hawthorne, clerk of the court for the Texas Supreme Court, will be honored with the Kathleen McCree Lewis Award for Appellate Justice by the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers in April 2020.

Hawthorne is being recognized by the group for his trailblazing work in transforming court records to electronic format, said Houston lawyer Kevin Dubose, treasurer of the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers, in a press release.

“We have known for years that Blake’s significant contributions to streamlining the Texas Supreme Court’s records have significantly benefited not only lawyers but the public,” said Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan L. Hecht in a press release. “But this award confirms the national reach of what he has done.”

The Kathleen McCree Lewis Award, named for a late past president of the appellate lawyers organization, honors people or groups for exceptional contributions to appellate practice. Recipients may be judges, entire courts, court administrators, law professors, or active or retired lawyers.

The last recipient of the periodic award, given in 2016, was retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice Anthony M. Kennedy.