The State Bar Board of Directors Nominations and Elections Subcommittee voted today to recommend Pablo Almaguer of Edinburg and Sylvia Borunda Firth of El Paso as nominees for 2020-2021 State Bar of Texas president-elect, after interviewing six potential nominees in Austin.

The Board of Directors will consider the recommendations at its next meeting, on September 20 in Corpus Christi. The meeting is open to the public, and anyone is welcome to attend. If the board approves their nominations, Almaguer and Borunda Firth would appear on the ballot in April 2020 along with any certified petition candidates.

Potential petition candidates can begin collecting signatures on September 1, 2019, and have until March 1, 2020, to submit their nominating petitions to the State Bar for certification. For information on how to run for president-elect, go here.

This year, the subcommittee considered candidates from any county in the state, according to State Bar rules. Click on the names below to read the potential nominees’ interest letters to the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee.

Pablo Almaguer
Sylvia Borunda Firth

The subcommittee is co-chaired by Immediate Past President Joe K. Longley and Immediate Past Board Chair Laura Gibson. To view the full subcommittee membership, go here and scroll to the end of the second page.