The Nominations and Elections Subcommittee voted today to recommend the nomination of Jeanne Cezanne “Cezy” Collins of El Paso and Larry P. McDougal Sr. of Richmond as candidates for 2019-2020 State Bar of Texas president-elect, after interviewing six potential nominees in Austin.

The State Bar Board of Directors will consider the recommendations at its next meeting, on September 28 in Austin. The meeting is open to the public, and anyone is welcome to attend. If the board approves their nominations, Collins and McDougal would appear on the ballot in April 2019 along with any certified petition candidates.

Potential candidates can begin collecting petition signatures on September 1 and have until March 1 to submit their nominating petitions to the State Bar for certification. For information on how to run for president-elect, go here.

This year, the subcommittee considered candidates from non-metropolitan counties (all counties except Bexar, Dallas, Harris, Tarrant, and Travis), according to State Bar rules. Click on the names below to read the potential nominees’ interest letters to the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee.

Cezy Collins
Larry McDougal

Nominations and Elections is a subcommittee of the State Bar board co-chaired by Immediate Past President Tom Vick and Immediate Past Board Chair Rehan Alimohammad. To view the full subcommittee membership, go here and scroll to the end of the second page.