Update: Pro Bono Challenge brings out competitive spirit

In October, the State Bar of Texas Legal Access Division issued a Pro Bono Challenge to the sections of the State Bar. The idea was to recognize the sections for their pro bono participation and add to the competitive spirit among them.

It appears to be working.

Since the challenge began, members have assigned approximately 9,505 pro bono hours to their respective sections! Below are the current leaders.

Top 7 Sections by Number of Hours Reported:
1. Family Law - 2,579
2. Immigration and Nationality Law - 1,168
3. Litigation - 871
4. Criminal Justice - 761
5. Real Estate, Probate, and Trust Law - 705
6. Appellate - 652
7. General Practice, Solo, and Small Firm - 617

Top 7 Sections by Percentage Participation:
1. Immigration and Nationality Law
2. Family Law
3. Criminal Justice
4. Alternative Dispute Resolution
5. Appellate
6. Individual Rights and Responsibilities
7. Bankruptcy Law

The challenge will run through the end of the bar year (May 31, 2014), so it is not too late to take a pro bono case and report the hours. If you have any questions about finding a pro bono opportunity or reporting, please contact the Legal Access Division at 800-204-2222, ext. 1837, or probono@texasbar.com.

Instructions for Pro Bono Challenge:
To log pro bono hours, attorneys simply log in to their My Bar Page and click on the Add Pro Bono Hours page. Now members can also assign their hours to a section or combination of sections by making multiple entries through the “add hours” tab. (Members may only count their pro bono hours once, though.) Winners of the Pro Bono Challenge will be selected in two categories: (1) the highest number of hours reported by a section; and (2) the highest percentage of section members reporting pro bono hours. Winners will be recognized at a special reception at the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, in the Texas Bar Journal, and in other media.

Native American Law Section Holds CLE Conference

On Jan. 17, the Native American Law Section of the State Bar of Texas held its annual CLE conference at the Texas Law Center in Austin. A highlight of this annual event, treasurer and section council member Jay Hurst presented State Bar President Lisa M. Tatum with a Martial Eagle feather as a sign of honor. Tatum, who has some Chickasaw and Cherokee heritage, said she was surprised and truly honored to receive the special gift. (The feather was from a non-native eagle species and had been certified as not falling under the jurisdiction of the Migratory Bird Treaty Act or Bald Eagle Act.)

Tatum then led a CLE session on her presidential initiatives, such as the educational program I was the first! Vote for me and the Care Kit, which provides resources for attorneys hosting pro bono clinics. Another highlight of the conference was the session on sovereignty led by Gregory A. Smith, partner in Hobbs, Straus, Dean & Walker in Washington, D.C., as well as a ceremony of traditional Native American singing, drumming, and dancing by the Eagle Point Singers. One song honored Tatum and two award winners, Shannon Speed, who received the section’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and Jo Ann Battise, who received the Tom Diamond Award of Excellence. 

A variety of additional CLE sessions were offered, including “Adoption of Native American Children,” “An Overview of Important Federal Indian Law Cases in 2013 and a Look Toward 2014,” “Legal Issues Specific to Native American and Indigenous Women,” and “Gaming.”

Asian Pacific Interest Section seeks nominations for 2010 Justice David Wellington Chew Award

The Asian Pacific Interest Section of the State Bar of Texas (APIS) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Justice David Wellington Chew Award, which honors individuals whose contributions benefit the Asian-Pacific American legal community in Texas. The award was named after Justice Chew, one of the first Asian-Pacific Americans in the Texas judiciary, who currently presides as Chief Justice of the Eighth Court of Appeals.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, March 26, 2010, at 5:00 p.m. The award will be presented on Saturday, April 17, 2010 at the Fourteenth Annual APIS Conference and Retreat to be held in Austin, Texas . More details can be found at http://texasapis.org/award.php.