TBLS celebrates 40 years, recognizes criminal law attorneys

2015 marks the 40th year of the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, which certifies attorneys in 21 areas of law and paralegals in six areas.

On June 19, in conjunction with its anniversary, the State Bar’s Annual Meeting, and the Rusty Duncan Advanced Criminal Law Course in San Antonio, TBLS held a reception to recognize attorneys who have been board certified since its 1974 inception, including 35 lawyers certified in criminal law.

Gary McNeil, executive director of TBLS, and Stanley G. Schneider, attorney with Schneider & McKinney in San Antonio, commended the lawyers and presented plaques to each of the 13 criminal law attorneys who attended the event.

For more information on the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, go to tbls.org.

On June 19, TBLS recognized several attorneys who have been board certified since 1974.
On June 19, TBLS recognized several attorneys who have been board certified since 1974.

Above, back row, from left to right: Stephen P. Takas of San Antonio; Michael M. Phillips of Angleton; William M. Rugeley of San Marcos; Vernard Solomon of Marshall; Ronald Leroy Goranson of Dallas; Gerry Goldstein of San Antonio; William R. Neil of Dallas; John Andrew Yeager of Austin; and Roy R. Barrera of San Antonio

Above, front row, from left to right: Jerry W. Melton of Dallas; Marvin Zimmerman of San Antonio; Vincent W. Perini of Dallas; Kenneth E. Blassingame of Dallas

Dallas lawyer selected for ABA award

Kim J. Askew, partner in K&L Gates in Dallas, was recently named as the recipient of a 2015 Spirit of Excellence Award from the American Bar Association Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity. Askew, one of four winners, will receive the award during a Feb. 7, 2015, ceremony at the ABA Midyear Meeting in Houston.

The Spirit of Excellence Award is presented to lawyers who excel in their professional settings; personify excellence on the national, state, or local level; and demonstrate a commitment to racial and ethnic diversity in the legal profession.

Askew, the 2003-2004 chair of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors, specializes in complex commercial and employment litigation. She is a longtime leader in the State Bar, ABA, and Dallas Bar Association.

Register for Annual Meeting now -- and save $50!

The State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting in Houston is right around the corner! Register before May 15 and save $50. Registration includes breakfast, lunch, a flash drive with all the materials, free wi-fi in the meeting rooms, and two quality days of CLE. Receive all of your MCLE and ethics requirements for only $245!

This year's keynote speakers include former Secretary of State James A. Baker III, attorney and reinvention strategist Marshawn Evans, and best-selling author Richard North Patterson. For more information, click here. To download the Annual Meeting brochure, click here.