Foundation seeking entries for Spirit of FOI Award

The Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas is accepting entries for the 2015 Nancy Monson Spirit of FOI Award. The award recognizes outstanding work in promoting open government and the public’s right to know.

Nominations are open to newspaper, broadcast, and online media news organizations with work published or broadcast in the 2014 calendar year. All entries must contain the following:

  • A letter, headed with the name of the person or organization nominated and the classification entered, explaining the effort being cited
  • PDFs of pages containing the coverage being entered
  • Additional support documents or letters as deemed necessary

A nomination can be a single news story or series; an editorial or series of editorials; columns; editorial cartoons; or a community FOI project. All entries must be submitted electronically by midnight Friday, May 8 to with the subject line FOI AWARD.



Winners will be announced at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas annual state conference on Thursday, Sept. 17 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Austin. The State Bar of Texas Gavel Awards also will be presented during the conference through a partnership between the State Bar and the foundation.

For more information on the Spirit of FOI Award, visit


Entries sought for 2015 Texas Gavel Awards

Starting today, the State Bar of Texas is accepting submissions for the 2015 Texas Gavel Awards, honoring journalism that fosters public understanding of the legal system.

Entries published or broadcast during the 2014 calendar year will be accepted for the print, broadcast, and online categories until 5 p.m. April 1. Awards will be presented Sept. 17 at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas annual conference in Austin.

For more information on the Texas Gavel Awards, including eligibility requirements and submission guidelines, visit, call (512) 427-1713 or download the entry form

The Texas Gavel Awards program is coordinated by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by an independent panel.

Texas Gavel Awards recognize excellence in journalism that educates the public about the rule of law, the legal profession, and the judicial branch of government; and discloses practices or procedures needing correction to improve the practice of law, the courts, or the justice system.




Gavel Awards presented and court access discussed during FOIFT conference

Journalists and legal professionals converged on Friday, Sept. 12, at the Hilton in downtown Austin to discuss public access to courts, social media use in open government, and new laws and best practices involving the Texas Public Information Act, as part of the 2014 Bernard and Audre Rapoport State Conference. The Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas sponsored the event.

The opening panel—moderated by Tom Williams, partner at Haynes and Boone and FOIFT vice president—included Elisabeth Earle, Travis County Court At Law judge; Joe Shannon, Tarrant County district attorney; and Joel White, First Amendment attorney and FOIFT board member and provided a lively conversation on “Rights, Roadblocks and the Public’s Access to the Courts.”


Addressing the crowd—which included representatives from The Texas Tribune, the Victoria Advocate,Texas Lawyer, the New York Times, and the City of Austin—the legal panelists shared some of their experiences working with journalists in the courtroom and offered insight into issues including media and crowd interactions with jurors, the role of public information officers in courts, and the ways the Internet and social media resources are affecting the legal process.

The panelists also discussed Rule 12 of the Rules of Judicial Administration, which governs the disclosure requirements of judicial records, and open access to courts. Often, the panelists seemed to agree, judges misunderstand the allowances of information requests or courtroom access. And, as noted by audience members, the ways public requests are carried out vary from location to location. That confusion is something many are hoping to mend.

“A court is either open or closed,” Shannon said. “You don’t close part of it.”

Later in the day, during a luncheon with Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson serving as keynote speaker, State Bar of Texas President Trey Apffel and Rudy England, chair of the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee, presented 2014 Texas Gavel Awards to select journalists who have demonstrated excellence in legal reporting and fostered a public understanding of the legal system.

The winners are listed below by award category, along with short descriptions of their entries.

  • Print, Major Metro: Brantley Hargrove, Dallas Observer, is the winner for “Burning Injustice,” a story about a woman’s fight to clear her name after a disputed murder conviction and the state’s efforts to deal with arson convictions involving “junk science.”
  • Print, Non-Metro: Michelle Villarreal Leschper, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, is the winner for “Death of Innocence,” a story about difficulties surrounding the release of information to the public and media in crimes involving juveniles and gag orders.
  • Broadcast, Major Metro: Lynn Boswell, KLRU-TV and Villita Media, is the winner for “Admissions on Trial: Seven Decades of Race and Higher Education,” an in-depth look at how colleges and universities decide which students to admit and reject and the courts’ role in answering whether race has a place in the decision.
  • Broadcast, Non-Metro: Joe Augustine (reporter) and Mario Sandoval (photographer/editor), KRGV-TV, are winners for “Trapped,” which highlights delays in immigration courts and the effects of the government’s decision to reprioritize cases.
  • Online: Brandi Grissom, The Texas Tribune, is the winner for “Trouble in Mind,” a six-part series examining the intersections of the Texas mental health and criminal justice systems and the developing jurisprudence around brain science.

The winning stories and author bios are available here.

2013 Gavel Award winners recognized at luncheon

The State Bar of Texas honored winners of the 2013 Texas Gavel Awards on Friday during the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas’s annual conference in Austin. 

The winners are:

Craig Malisow of the Houston Press for “Blood Money,” in the print-major metro category. “Blood Money” is an in-depth look at the case of more than 200 soldiers who sued a military contractor for their exposure to toxic chemicals in Iraq.

Emma Perez-Treviño of the Valley Morning Star for “Corruption,” in the print-nonmetro category. “Corruption” is a series of reports documenting a web of connections, indictments, and convictions in the Cameron County judiciary and legal system.

Brandi Grissom, Justin Dehn, and Ryan Murphy of The Texas Tribune for “Errors in Judgment,” in the online-only category. In “Errors in Judgment,” the Tribune reviewed court records in each of the more than 80 overturned Texas convictions between 1989 and 2011 and found that nearly a quarter of the cases involved prosecutorial error that contributed to the wrong outcome.

The Texas Gavel Awards are sponsored each year by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by out-of-state journalists and editors, legal reporting experts, attorneys with journalism backgrounds, and members of academia. Journalists play an important role in educating the public about the legal system, and the Texas Gavel Awards honor those efforts.

To read the winning stories and learn more about the winners, visit

Pictured, from left, are State Bar of Texas Board of Directors chair Cindy Tisdale, Perez-Treviño, Malisow, Dehn, and Rudy England, the chair of the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee.