Seeking nominations for municipal judge award

The Municipal Judges Section of the State Bar of Texas is accepting nominations for its Judge Michael L. O’Neal Outstanding Jurist Award. Now in its 15th year, this accolade is named in honor of the former chair of the State Commission on Judicial Conduct who helped write the ethics rules for the judiciary. Judge O’Neal is known for boosting the professionalism, reputation, and respect of municipal judges in Texas.

Nominations for the Judge Michael L. O’Neal Outstanding Jurist Award can be submitted by a member of the Municipal Judges Section to no later than April 1.

Texas Bar Foundation Call for Award Nominations

The Texas Bar Foundation is calling for entries for their 2014 Award Program. The Texas Bar Foundation award categories include the following:

  • Dan Rugeley Price Award recognizes an attorney who is an accomplished legal writer and researcher.
  • Lola Wright Foundation Award is given to an attorney who exemplifies the highest standards of legal ethics.
  • Outstanding 50 Year Lawyer Award recognizes an attorney whose practice spans 50 years or more and adheres to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public.
  • Ronald D. Secrest Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award is awarded to an attorney who has demonstrated high ethical and moral standards and has demonstrated exceptional professional conduct, thus enhancing the image of the trial lawyer.
  • Samuel Pessarra Outstanding Jurist Award is given to an active current Federal or State judge who has served on the bench for a minimum of 10 years and exhibits an exceptionally outstanding reputation for competency, efficiency, and integrity.
  • Outstanding Law Review Article Award which honors a law review article published by one of the Texas law schools.
  • Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer Award recognizes an attorney who exhibits an outstanding appellate practice and strong moral compass while maintaining a strong commitment to providing legal services for the underserved and mentoring of young lawyers.

For more information and to view the nomination form, please visit the Texas Bar Foundation website and click on the "2014 Awards Submissions" ribbon.

The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. in the Texas Bar Foundation office.

The Texas Bar Foundation is located at 515 Congress Ave., Ste. 1755, Austin, 78701. You may contact them at 512-480-8000, Fax: 512-480-8005, or

The Mexican-American Bar Association of Texas Foundation to Recognize Commitments to Diversity within the Legal Profession

(Houston, TX) The Eighth Annual Mexican-American Bar Association of Texas Foundation (MABATX Foundation) Scholarship Luncheon will be held August 22 at the Double Tree Hotel in Downtown Houston.

The luncheon will include a scholarship award program for select students from the three Houston-area law schools. The outstanding law students were chosen as 2013 MABATX Foundation scholarship recipients because they exemplify the core goals and ideals of the Foundation: leadership, commitment, justice, and equality within the Hispanic community and beyond.

“It is important that we encourage a new generation of lawyers to have the courage and strength to be committed to their clients but also committed to their communities,” said attorney Benny Agosto, Jr., founder of MABATX Foundation, and partner at Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Sorrels, Agosto & Friend in Houston.

Following a keynote address given by Susan Sanchez, Senior Council for Exxon Mobil Corporation, the following people will also be recognized for their contributions and commitments to advancing the position of Hispanic members of the Houston community:

  • For Outstanding Service in the Community as an Entrepreneur, Jorge Ferraez of Latino Leaders Magazine
  • For Outstanding Service in the Community as a Pioneer in the Media Industry, Lana Hughes and JP Pritchard of News 92
  • For Outstanding Public Service to the State of Texas, Senator Rodney Ellis
  • For Outstanding Service in the Judiciary, Justice Patricia Alvarez, San Antonio Court of Appeals
  • Lisa Tatum and David Chaumette will also receive awards recognizing their commitments to diversity within the legal profession

The annual luncheon serves as both a platform for recognition as well as a fundraiser for the MABATX Foundation. Since its inception in 2006, the Foundation has raised over $150,000 for its scholarship program and to further its mission of promoting the social, economic, and educational advancement of the people of Texas. To learn more about the Foundation, please visit

Accepting nominations - Fairy Davenport Rutland Award

The State Bar of Texas Child Abuse and Neglect Committee is now accepting nominations for the Fairy Davenport Rutland Award for Distinguished Service to Children and Families. Candidates must have made a substantial contribution to the field of advocacy for abused and neglected children. Only practicing attorneys are eligible (private or government); judges and members of the Child Abuse and Neglect Committee are ineligible.

Nominations should include a one-page explanation of the nominee’s qualifications, the nominee’s address and phone number, and a statement advising whether the nominator will permit publication of his name as the nominator of the nominee in print media. The deadline for nominations is April 8. You can submit nominations to Fernando Guerrero, committee coordinator, via fax (512) 427-4328; or mail State Bar of Texas, P.O. Box 12487, Austin 78711-2487.

Call for nominations - Jack Pope Professionalism Award

The Texas Center for Legal Ethics is now accepting nominations for the fifth annual Chief Justice Jack Pope Professionalism Awards. One award each will be presented to an appellate judge and an appellate lawyer who epitomize the highest level of professionalism and integrity. Active and retired lawyers and judges are eligible. Awards will be presented during the Texas Supreme Court Historical Society Dinner in June.

Nominations should include a one-page explanation of the nominee’s qualifications as well as a biography or C.V. The deadline for nominations is April 1. You can submit nominations by email to; via fax to (512) 427- 4125; or via mail to Texas Center for Legal Ethics, 1414 Colorado, 4th Floor, Austin 78701.